Friday, August 30, 2013

The Old Stone House, Brooklyn, NY

      The Old Stone House (,_New_York)is a historical site located in Washington Park(3rd Street at 5th ave.) in Park Slope, Brooklyn. The house played an important part in American History
   On August 27 1776 the Old Stone House was a key location in The American Revolution. It is where The Battle of Brooklyn took place which was the largest battle of The Revolution. General George Washington's troops were surrounded on two sides and had no choice but to escape across a Brouwer' Mill Pond  on The Gowanus Creek to Brooklyn Heights. 400 solders stayed behind to fight the British in front of The Old Stone  House. They were to become known as the Maryland 400. Many Americans were lost on that day and the British took occupation of the house during the rest of the Revolutionary War.

   The original Vechte-Cortelyou House was built as a farm house in 1699 by Dutch immigrant, Claes Vechte who later in 1797 sold the house to Jocques Cortelyou ,who bought the house for his newly married son, Peter. Peter's son Jocques (named after his grandfather) inherited the house in 1850 and his family was the last to live in the Old Stone House.
      In 1850 Jocques Cortelyou sold the the property to Edwin Litchfield and The Old Stone House was used as a clubhouse for the baseball team ,The Brooklyn Superbas who later became the Brooklyn Dodgers. The house was destroyed in 1897 and  rebuilt in 1934 to what you see now using stone from the original sight.
      Today The Old Stone House is a museum where visitors can learn about The Battle of Brooklyn through gallery tours and Historical reenactments of famous events. The house is surrounded by lush gardens which contain native plants that you would have found growing in the area during colonial times. There are many unique shops and restaurants in the Park Slope area as well

This week(Aug.17-24) is Battle of Brooklyn Week. Check the old stone house website for details. for details
 The museum is opened every Saturday and Sunday from 11:00am to 4:00pm or by appointment.
 For more info go to                                                                                                                                                                                                Text and photographs by Scott Korn